Posted by: juliegirl | November 11, 2009

the joy of an egg

Hooray for Evangeline!


100_1851

Our first egg in SIX WEEKS has arrived!

Very uncharacteristically, Evangeline greeted me at the fence by squatting down to be pet. It hasn’t happened in a long time that a chicken has been interested in any contact, and though I’ve been mourning the loss of sweetness among the flock, I just thought it was some “teenage phase” of chickenhood. But my earlier instincts were right all along–I’ve always thought that the ones who lay eggs were the snuggliest.

I haven’t checked the coop for eggs in over a week. But when Evangeline hunched down for a pat, I went straight to the egg door and VIOLA! A beautiful blue egg.

Evangeline, you go girl!

Leave a Reply

Categories

